Asus CB3-431 Chromebook - linux installation completing but not booting

I’ve been trying (and seemingly completing) the installation of Mint (tried full and light versions) and Zion OS on my end-of-life ASUS CB3-431 Chromebook, once I complete the installation (using erase disk duration install), when it tells me to remove the installation media and press enter, in doing so, it just comes back with the “ChromeOS is missing or damaged” screen (see photo: https://imgur.com/a/EJLsmjk)

Apologies in advance if this has been asked before, but I’ve completely run out of attempts googling, redditing, and just trying over and over. It feels like I’m either missing a step at the installation stage, something isn’t right with the hard disk or I’m just being a bit thick. Just as a side note, I’ve never tried anything like this before so to have got to the point where I was able to enable legacy firmware installation, remove the write-protect screw etc - I was really pleased with myself until the final hurdle and it just not booting to what I thought was a new installed Linux OS. I’d love to give this machine a chance to be used a bit longer rather than just binned off.

Thanks in advance!

RW_LEGACY is not supported on EOL Chromebooks. I’m guessing you’re not using MrChromebox’s script.

Since you’ve already disabled hardware write protection, to use MrChromebox’s script to install full UEFI firmware on your Chromebook, simply run the script from ChromeOS and select option 2 “Install UEFI (Full ROM) Firmware”